Main differences between ATEX certification and IECEx certification

In recent years, the average annual growth rate of global demand for explosion-proof electrical products has reached 17%. Only a small number of explosion-proof electrical products in China are sold in the international market. Qingdao hengfengyou electric Martin believes that the implementation of the explosion-proof electrical product certification system in line with international standards will help to improve the technical content and quality of products, promote industrial upgrading and expand the export trade of explosion-proof electrical products. Therefore, Qingdao hengfengyou electric applied for IECEx certificate for electrical products such as power distribution transformer, switch cabinet and distribution box as early as 2018, which is in line with international standards.

Main differences between ATEX certification and IECEx certification

At present, the world’s well-known explosion-proof certification bodies are mainly ATEX and IECEx. Today, let hengfengyou electrical technical director introduce the difference between the two:

·IECEx certification

IECEx (English IEC scheme for certification to standards for electrical equipment for explosive atmospheres, the abbreviation of the International Electrotechnical Commission’s certification system for explosion-proof electrical products) refers to that it is specially used for the possible accumulation of explosive gases, vapors and gases in industrial departments such as petroleum, chemical industry, coal mine, light textile, grain processing and military industry Certification of electrical equipment in explosion hazardous places such as dust or fiber.

·ATEX certification

ATEX (named after “atmosph è re explosibles” in French) refers to the directive “equipment and protective systems for potentially explosive atmospheres” (94 / 9 / EC) adopted by the European Commission on March 23, 1994. This directive covers mine and non mine equipment. Different from the previous directive, it includes mechanical equipment and electrical equipment, and extends the potential explosion hazardous environment to dust, combustible gas, combustible vapor and mist in the air. This directive is commonly known as the “new method” directive of ATEX 100A, that is, the current ATEX explosion-proof directive. It specifies the technical requirements for the application of equipment intended for potentially explosive atmospheres – basic health and safety requirements and conformity assessment procedures that must be adopted before the equipment is put on the European market within its scope of use

·Main differences between ATEX certification and IECEx certification:

1. Although both ATEX certification and IECEx certification describe the necessary requirements for equipment used in potentially hazardous and hazardous locations, they are different in some aspects. The main difference is that ATEX certification is driven by law and IECEx certification is driven by standards.

2. ATEX certification is only valid in the EU, while IECEx certification is accepted worldwide. Similarly, ATEX certification is required for all non electrical and electrical equipment legally used in hazardous locations. However, IECEx certification is only required for electrical equipment in hazardous locations.

3. In terms of standards, ATEX certification is not mandatory, but for IECEx certification, the third-party certification body is responsible for combining all aspects of manufacturing and design for public certification. In short, IECEx certification is stricter than ATEX certification in evidence processing in the certification process.

4. Another fundamental difference is how each guide is set up. IECEx certification system is actually one of the four conformity assessment systems operated by IEC. IECEx certification system includes four independent international certification parts, including IECEx certification equipment plan, IECEx certification service plan, IECEx certification conformity mark permission system and IECEx certification qualified personnel plan. However, ATEX certification refers to two separate but related directives, as described above.

·Quality system of high-risk explosion-proof products

Both ATEX certification and IECEx certification have quality assurance system. For high-risk explosion-proof products, complete quality system certification must be carried out. The quality system is mainly based on ISO 9001 and additional requirements for the design, manufacturing and testing of explosion-proof products, which shall be implemented by the certification authority.

[Qingdao hengfengyou Electric is subordinate to hengfengshuai group. It is a professional electrical company focusing on the production, manufacturing and sales of electrical distribution products. It has 30 years of production experience in the global power market. It is mainly engaged in the manufacturing and sales of distribution transformers and medium and low voltage switchgear. It has been successfully sold to more than 50 countries around the world. The product certification is complete. Hengfengyou Electric will provide you with the best electrical products Product solutions,  ; ; WhatsApp:+86158 5325 2696(Jack)    +86158 5326 5269(Alisa)】

Published by hengfengyou

Qingdao Hengfengyou Electrical Engineering Co., LTD., subordinate to Hengfengshuai Group, is an export-oriented enterprise with transmission and distribution industry as its main business, integrating product research and development, manufacturing and trade. Its main products include power transformers, medium and low voltage switch cabinets, circuit breakers and other power distribution equipment and power engineering services.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: